Three University of Pennsylvania Professors Named AAAS Fellows

facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Greg Lester | | 215-573-6604November 23, 2006

PHILADELPHIA -- Three faculty members of the University of Pennsylvania have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

This year AAAS recognized 449 members for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.  The new Fellows will be officially inducted Feb. 17, during the 2007 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

This year's AAAS Fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Nov. 24.

The new Penn AAAS Fellows are:

M. Fevzi Daldal, professor of biology in Penn's School of Arts and Sciences.

Citation: For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular microbiology and biochemical genetics, particularly structure, functions, regulation and biogenesis of cytochromes and membrane cytochrome complexes.

Martha Farah, professor of psychology in Penn's School of Arts and Sciences and director of Penn's Center for Cognitive Neuroscience.

Citation: For her many contributions to our understanding of the functioning of the human mind and its neural substrate.

Andrew I. Schafer, professor and chairman of the Department of Medicine in Penn's School of Medicine.

Citation: For distinguished original research contributions to the field of hemostasis, thrombosis, platelet and vascular cell biology, and for leadership in academic medicine.