Six Penn Professors Elected to the Institute of Medicine

facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Greg Lester | | 215.573.6604October 24, 2005

PHILADELPHIA -- Six faculty members of the University of Pennsylvania are among the 64 researchers and physicians named to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies today. The six include professors from Penn's School of Medicine, School of Dental Medicine and School of Nursing.

The Institute of Medicine was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences to honor professional achievement in the health sciences and to serve as a national resource for independent analysis and recommendations on issues related to medicine, biomedical sciences and health.

The new Penn faculty members in IOM are:

  • Marjorie K. Jeffcoat, dean of the School of Dental Medicine.
  • Larry R. Kaiser, professor and chair, Department of Surgery, School of Medicine.  
  • Virginia M.-Y. Lee, professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, Center for Neurodegenerative Disease Research, School of Medicine.
  • Mary D. Naylor, professor of gerontology, School of Nursing.
  • Stanley A. Plotkin, emeritus professor of pediatrics, School of Medicine.
  • Virginia A. Stallings, professor of pediatrics, School of Medicine.