School of Nursing Names Recipients of 2010 Teaching Awards

facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Joy McIntyre | | 215-898-5074 May 7, 2010

PHILADELPHIA – Seven members of the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing have been named recipients of teaching awards for 2010.
    • Jianghong Liu, an assistant professor, was selected for the Dean’s Award for Undergraduate Scholarly Mentorship for helping students cultivate research interests by providing them with opportunities to prepare manuscripts, develop and present abstracts at research symposiums and design scholarly posters. 
    • Rosemary Polomano, an associate professor, was honored with the first Dean’s Award for M.S./M.S.N. Scholarly Mentorship.  She has helped students conduct research, taught them how to write successful grant applications and advised them when they were invited to an international conference to share their research findings.
    • Diane Spatz, a clinical nurse specialist in lactation at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, received the Dean’s Award for Exemplary Professional Practice.  An associate professor, she developed education and training programs for nurses and physicians to improve the lives of vulnerable infants.
    • Beth Quigley, a senior lecturer, earned the Award for Teaching Excellence by Non-Standing Faculty.  She was commended for mentoring students and clinical instructors and for her teaching and course leadership.
    • Rosemary Gillespie, a lecturer, was selected to receive the Undergraduate Award for Teaching.  Selected by the undergraduates, Gillespie was honored for subject-matter knowledge, innovative methods and responsiveness to students.
    • Mary Kathleen McHugh was selected by the Graduate Student Organization to receive the Outstanding Nurse Educator Award/M.S.N. Award for Teaching.  She is an advanced senior lecturer.  McHugh was cited for excellence in teaching at the master’s level.
    • Martha Curley, an associate professor, was honored with the Barbara J. Lowery D.S.O. Faculty Award.  She was chosen by the Doctoral Student Organization for advancing nursing science through exemplary student mentorship.