Faculty Members Receive 2010 Lindback and Provost’s Awards

facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Jacquie Posey | jposey@upenn.edu | 215-898-6460 April 30, 2010

PHILADELPHIA – Twelve University of Pennsylvania faculty members have been honored as recipients of the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teaching, Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence and Provost’s Awards for Distinguished Ph.D. Teaching and Mentoring.

The Lindback Awards, presented to members of Penn’s standing faculty since 1961, recognize distinguished teaching at colleges and universities throughout the Mid-Atlantic service area of Abbotts Dairies Inc.  Christian Lindback was president and principal of Abbott’s Dairies.  

The Provost’s Awards for Teaching Excellence, given in conjunction with the Lindbacks since 1988, go to selected full- and part-time associated faculty or academic support staff.

The Provost’s Award for Distinguished Ph.D Teaching and Mentoring was established in 2003 to honor faculty who mentor Ph.D. students.  The award underscores the University’s emphasis on graduate education, by celebrating the accomplishments of members of the standing or associated faculty in any school offering the Ph.D who show special distinction in doctoral education.

Honored with the Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teaching are:
•    John DiIulio, professor of political science in the School of Arts and Sciences.
•    Zachary Ives, associate professor of computer and information science in the School of Engineering and Applied Science.
•    Eugene Mele, professor of physics in the School of Arts and Sciences.
•    Laura Perna, associate professor of education in the Graduate School of Education.
•    Judith Aronchick, associate professor of radiology in the School of Medicine.
•    Jonathan Korostoff, associate professor-clinician educator in the Department of Periodontics in the School of Dental Medicine.
•    Marilyn Sommers, Lillian S. Brunner professor of medical-surgical nursing in the School of Nursing.
•    Robert Weinrieb, associate professor of psychiatry in the School of Medicine.

The Provost's Awards for Teaching Excellence were presented to:
•    Brian Keith, adjunct professor of biology in the School of Arts and Sciences.
•    Carolyn Cambor, associate professor of clinical pathology and laboratory medicine in the School of Medicine.

The Provost’s Awards for Distinguished Ph.D. Teaching and Mentoring went to:
•    Margreta de Grazia, Rosenberg, professor of English in the School of Arts and Sciences.
•    Renata Holod, professor of the history of art and curator, Near East section, University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.