Charles O’Brien Receives Institute of Medicine's 2010 Sarnat Prize in Mental Health

facebook twitter google print email
Media Contact:Kim Menard | | 215-662-6183 October 11, 2010

The Institute of Medicine today awarded the 2010 Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health to two scientists — Charles P. O'Brien, MD, PhD, the Kenneth Appel Professor of Psychiatry and vice chair of psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine; and Eric J. Nestler, MD, PhD, the Nash Family Professor of Neuroscience, chair of the department of neuroscience, and director of the Friedman Brain Institute at Mount Sinai School of Medicine — for their complementary achievements in addiction science.  The Sarnat Prize, consisting of a medal and $20,000, recognizes the researchers' leading roles in elucidating the biological mechanics of addiction, improving the quality of care offered by treatment programs, and ultimately reducing the stigma associated with the condition.  The prize was presented to O'Brien and Nestler at IOM's annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Click here to view the full release.